The food industry does not currently have a universally accepted regulating body. There are many different regulating organizations, and food manufacturers may subscribe to one or many of their requirements.

Who Regulates Compressed Air?

In order to apply the appropriate regulatory processes to food safety management systems, it is necessary to recognize the different regulatory organizations and their application to compressed air:

1. Safe Quality Food Institute (SQF)

SQF implements reliable and credible food safety management systems using scientific principles to certify and register auditors internationally.

2. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

FDA plays a significant role in the United States regulation and advancement of food supply and safety. The FDA implemented the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) in 2011 and requires compliance to the newly implemented regulations to take place this year, including the Foreign Supplier Verifications Program (FSVP). FSVP requires that food imported to the U.S. must meet newly implemented regulatory standards.

The FDA discusses compressed air guidelines with application to the human consumption of food in Code of Federal Regulations Title 21.

3. British Retail Consortium (BRC)

BRC is an association based in the United Kingdom working to assist retailers and food manufacturers in developing food safety management systems. BRC uses Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) as an applied program to guide manufacturers in the implementation of food safety principles.

4. Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI)

GFSI collaborates internationally with leaders in the food industry to establish a globally recognized food safety system. GFSI uses “Benchmarking Requirements” and food safety certification programs to certify businesses with “food safety passports,” confirming the company has met high regulatory standards.

To read about compressed air in food processing facilities and Good Manufacturing Practices under the Global Food Safety Initiative click here.

5. Food Safety System Certification (FSSC)

FSSC is a regulatory body that establishes and assists in food safety management systems and is recognized by GFSI. FSSC 22000 certifies and audits food manufacturers using the standards from the International Organization for Standardization, ISO 22000 and ISO 22003.

For more information on quality management standard ISO 22000 with application to compressed air click here.

6. International Featured Standards on Food (IFS)

IFS is the internationally recognized regulatory organization that focuses specifically on food safety systems during processing and production. IFS is recognized by GFSI and also works with other food safety organizations to standardize safety management systems internationally.